國際法適用於國內法律體系?

雙元制與一元制

美國認為國際法和國內法之間的相互作用在兩種不同的方式。 一元論和二元論是用來描述這兩種不同的法律傳統。

一元論

在美國與一元制的國際法並不需要將其轉化為國家法律。 批准國際條約的行為,會立即將國際法納入國家法律。 “國際刑事法院規約”,因此,可以直接應用,並在國內法院判決。

“一元制”不同,他們的方法。

  • 在某些憲法直接納入國際義務轉化為國內法上發生的批准。
  • 在其他國家直接摻入只發生在自執行條約。

二元論

與“二元制”的國家,國際法是不能直接適用國內。 首先,必須轉化為國家立法,然後才可以申請國家法院。

因此,二元論的國家批准“國際刑事法院規約”是不夠的,國家執行立法是必要的。 戰爭罪行的審判,例如,只需要在制定國家立法,當然,除非此種立法已經存在。

例如: 荷蘭-一元制,實施立法

新的國家規定,危害人類罪,犯罪嫌疑人的合作和轉讓的法律。

荷蘭簽署了“羅馬規約”1998年7月18日和2001年7月17日批准了該公約。 儘管是一個一元制,荷蘭認為,作為締約國,有義務通過國內立法實施“規約”。

“國際刑事法院法”(試行)及隨附的修訂法“均為2002年6月20日頒布。 2002年7月1日生效實施法案“,給荷蘭政府的法定依據,將犯罪嫌疑人的國際刑事法院和與國際刑事法院合作。

戰爭罪和種族滅絕罪,連續多年被定義為刑事犯罪根據荷蘭法律。 因此,被指控犯有這些罪行的人,甚至在荷蘭受審之前,國際刑事法院規約“生效。 為了使被指控犯有危害人類罪的人可以嘗試,然而,荷蘭,需要將有關的國際刑事法院規約“的規定納入國家法律。 2003年6月19日頒布了“國際犯罪法”,2003年10月1日生效。 這使荷蘭刑法國際刑事法院規約“的規定,從事互補的原則。

How does international law apply in a domestic legal system?

Dualist and Monist Systems

States see the interaction between international and national law in two different ways. Monism and dualism are used to describe these two different legal traditions.


In States with a monist system international law does not need to be translated into national law. The act of ratifying an international treaty immediately incorporates that international law into national law. The ICC Statute, therefore, can be directly applied and adjudicated in national courts.

“Monist systems” do differ in  their approach.

  • Under some Constitutions direct incorporation of international obligations into the domestic law occur on ratification.
  • In other States direct incorporation occurs only for self-executing treaties.


For States with a “dualist system”, international law is not directly applicable domestically. It must first be translated into national legislation before it can be applied by the national courts.

Therefore, for a dualist State ratification of the ICC Statute is not enough and national implementing legislation is necessary. War crimes trials, for example, can only take place when the national legislation is enacted, unless of course such legislation already exists.

Example: Holland – a monist system, with implementing legislation

New national provisions for crimes against humanity, laws on cooperation and transfer of suspects.

The Netherlands signed the Rome Statute on 18 July 1998 and ratified it on 17 July 2001. Despite being a monist system, the view of the Netherlands is that as a State Party it is obliged to implement the Statute through national legislation.

The International Criminal Court (Implementation) Act and the accompanying Amendment Act were both enacted on 20 June 2002. The Implementation Act entered into force on 1 July 2002, giving the Dutch Government a statutory basis for transferring suspects to the ICC and for cooperating with the ICC.

War crimes and genocide have for many years been defined as criminal offences under Dutch law. Therefore persons accused of these crimes could stand trial in the Netherlands even prior to the ICC Statute coming into force. To make it possible to try persons accused of crimes against humanity, however, the Netherlands needed to translate the relevant ICC Statute provisions into national law. The International Crimes Act was enacted on 19 June 2003 and entered into force on 1 October 2003. This brought Dutch criminal law into line with the ICC Statute’s requirements, and engaged the principle of complementarity.