لماذا يجب على الدول أن تنفذ؟

ICC Review Conference, Kampala, Uganda

المؤتمر الاستعراضي للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية، كمبالا، أوغندا

اعتبارا من أبريل 2012 من أصل 192 دولة عضو في الأمم المتحدة، و 121 من الدول الأطراف في نظام روما الأساسي للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية (ICC).

ومن المعروف الدول التي صدقت أو انضمت إلى النظام الأساسي للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية والدول الأطراف. فهي ملزمة لتنفيذ أحكام النظام الأساسي في قانونها الداخلي. على وجه الخصوص، أن الدولة لديها لتجريم الإبادة الجماعية وجرائم ضد الإنسانية وجرائم حرب في تشريعاتها الوطنية. يتم تعريف هذه الجرائم على وجه التحديد في النظام الأساسي للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية بموجب المادتين 6 و 7 و 8 على التوالي.

اختصاص المحكمة الجنائية الدولية مكملة للقضاء الوطني

وليس المقصود من المحكمة الجنائية الدولية أن تكون بديلا عن نظم العدالة الجنائية الوطنية. وهو يكمل لهم. هذا هو المعروف باسم مبدأ التكامل (انظر المادة 17 من النظام الأساسي للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية). ووفقا لذلك المحكمة الجنائية الدولية ليس لديها اختصاص إذا كانت الدولة تحقق أو تنظر، ما لم تكن الدولة غير راغبة أو غير قادرة على القيام بذلك بشكل حقيقي. وينطبق الشيء نفسه حيث حققت دولة وقرر عدم محاكمة. والمحكمة الجنائية الدولية غير مختصة إلا إذا كان قرار عدم محاكمة نتجت عن عدم رغبة أو عدم القدرة حقا على المقاضاة.

ويترتب على ذلك أنه إذا لم تحقق حتى دولة، ويقول، والجرائم ضد الإنسانية التي ارتكبت على أراضيها أو من قبل رعاياها، المحكمة الجنائية الدولية لديها الاختصاص.

ومع ذلك، سيكون من غير الواقعي أن نتوقع أن المحكمة الجنائية الدولية ستكون قادرة على محاكمة كل هذه الجرائم ومعاقبة جميع مرتكبي. على سبيل التطبيق العملي يمكن للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية لا تكون محكمة الدرجة الأولى لمثل هذه الجرائم.

لتلبية تعريف الجرائم ضد الإنسانية، على سبيل المثال، مثل هذه الجرائم يجب أن ترتكب كجزء من هجوم واسع النطاق أو منهجي موجه ضد مجموعة من السكان المدنيين. مثل هذه الجرائم عادة ما يكون الجناة عديدة. النظر في مزاعم عمليات القتل والتعذيب حقت في المخيمات، تنتشر عبر البلاد التى مزقتها الحرب على مدى عدة سنوات. يمكن للمرء أن يتوقع واقعيا جميع مرتكبي أن تجد نفسها أمام المحكمة الجنائية الدولية. فعالية النظام برمته، لذلك، يعتمد على المحاكمات الوطنية لهذه الجرائم.

سلامة نموذج المحكمة الجنائية الدولية يقوم على فرضية أن الدول الأطراف سوف تعمل على ملاحقة جريمة الإبادة الجماعية، والجرائم ضد الإنسانية وجرائم الحرب التي ارتكبت على أراضيها أو من جانب رعاياها. والافتراض هو أن المحكمة الجنائية الدولية أن تمارس ولايتها القضائية التكميلية في الحالات التي يكون فيها أقلية من الملاحقات القضائية الوطنية كاذبة محاولة درء شخص من الملاحقة القضائية للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية، أو الدول غير قادرة على محاكمة بسبب نظامهم القضائي الوطني قد انهار.

وكما هو مؤكد في القرار التكامل من قبل جمعية الدول الأطراف التي اعتمدت في المؤتمر الاستعراضي للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية في كمبالا في عام 2010 ، يجب ضمان المقاضاة الفعالة للجرائم الدولية الأساسية على المستوى الوطني. حول نصف الدول الأطراف لديه نوع من تشريعات تنفيذية . يمكن للمبادرة السلام والعدل مساعدة الدول الأطراف والدول الأخرى في صياغة ومراجعة التشريعات وأصحاب المصلحة تنفيذ التدريب ذات الصلة في استخدام تلك الأحكام من الناحية العملية في التجارب المحلية.

Why must states implement?

ICC Review Conference, Kampala, Uganda

ICC Review Conference, Kampala, Uganda

As of  February 2014 out of 192 UN member states, 122 are States Parties to the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court (ICC).

States which have ratified or acceded to the ICC Statute are known as State Parties. They are under an obligation to implement the provisions of the Statute in their domestic law. In particular, the state has to criminalise genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes in its national legislation. These crimes are specifically defined in the ICC Statute under Articles 6, 7 and 8, respectively.

ICC’s jurisdiction is complementary to national jurisdiction

The ICC is not intended to be a substitute for national criminal justice systems. It complements them. This is known as the principle of complementarity (see Article 17 of the ICC Statute). According to it the ICC does not have jurisdiction if the state is investigating or prosecuting, unless the state is unwilling or unable to do so genuinely. The same applies where a state has investigated and decided not to prosecute. The ICC would not have jurisdiction unless the decision not to prosecute resulted from unwillingness or inability genuinely to prosecute.

The implication of this is that if a state has not even investigated, say, crimes against humanity committed on its own territory or by its nationals, the ICC does have jurisdiction.

However, it would be unrealistic to expect that the ICC will be able to try all such crimes and punish all perpetrators. As a matter of practicality the ICC cannot be the first instance court for such crimes.

To satisfy the definition of crimes against humanity, for example, such crimes have to be committed as part of a widespread or systematic attack directed against a civilian population. Such crimes typically have numerous perpetrators. Consider allegations of killings and torture inflicted in camps, spread across a war-torn country over the course of several years. One cannot realistically expect all the perpetrators to find themselves before the ICC. The effectiveness of the whole system, therefore, depends on national prosecutions of these crimes.

The integrity of the ICC model rests on the premise that State Parties will act to prosecute genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes committed on their territory or by their nationals. The assumption is that  the ICC would exercise its complementary jurisdiction in the minority of cases where false national prosecutions attempt to shield someone from ICC prosecution, or states are unable to prosecute because their national judicial system has collapsed.

As reiterated in the Complementarity Resolution by the Assembly of State Parties adopted at the ICC Review Conference in Kampala in 2010, effective prosecution of the core international crimes must be ensured at the national level.  Around one half of States Parties have some type of implementing legislation.  The Peace and Justice initiative can assist States Parties and other states in drafting and reviewing implementing legislation and training relevant stakeholders in using those provisions in practice in domestic trials.