国家为什么要实施?

ICC Review Conference, Kampala, Uganda

国际刑事法院审查会议,坎帕拉,乌干达

截至2012年4月的192个联合国成员国中,121是“罗马规约”,国际刑事法院(ICC)的缔约国

被称为国家已批准或加入“国际刑事法院规约”缔约国。 他们有义务在其国内法律的规约“的规定执行。 特别是,国家在国家立法中,有灭绝种族罪,危害人类罪和战争罪的定罪。 这些犯罪的具体规定在“国际刑事法院规约”第6,第7和第8条,分别为。

国际刑事法院的管辖权是国家管辖范围的补充

国际刑事法院是一个国家刑事司法系统的替代品。 它补充了他们。 这被称为互补的原则(见“国际刑事法院规约”第17条)。根据国际刑事法院不具有管辖权的状态正在调查或起诉,除非该国不愿意或不能这样做真的。 这同样适用于一个国家的调查,并决定不起诉。 国际刑事法院没有管辖权,除非导致不愿或不能切实进行起诉不起诉的决定。

其含义是,如果一个国家甚至还没有调查,比方说,在自己的领土或由其国民犯下的危害人类罪,国际刑事法院管辖权。

然而,这将是不切实际的期望,国际刑事法院将能够尝试所有这些罪行和惩罚所有罪犯。 作为一个实际问题的ICC不能一审法院对此类罪行。

为了满足反人类罪的定义,例如,这些罪行必须致力于为广泛或有系统地针对平民人口进行的攻击的一部分。 这类犯罪通常有许多肇事者。 想想几年的过程中,分布在一个饱受战争蹂躏的国家在难民营中造成的杀戮和酷刑的指控。 不能期望所有的肇事者找到自己之前的ICC。 因此,整个系统的有效性取决于国家起诉这些罪行。

ICC模型的完整性的前提下,各缔约国将采取行动,起诉灭绝种族罪,危害人类罪和战争犯下的罪行在其领土上或由本国国民的责任。 的假设是,国际刑事法院将行使其互补的司法管辖区的少数虚假的民族起诉的情况下,企图掩护从国际刑事法院起诉的人,或国家无法起诉,因为他们的国家司法系统已经崩溃。

互补性决议重申缔约国大会2010年通过的“国际刑事法院审查会议在坎帕拉 ,有效为核心的国际罪行的起诉,必须确保在国家一级。 大约有一半的缔约国有某种类型的执行立法 和平与正义的举措可以协助缔约国和其他国家在起草和审查实施立法和相关的培训在国内审判这些规定在实践中的利益相关者。

Why must states implement?

ICC Review Conference, Kampala, Uganda

ICC Review Conference, Kampala, Uganda

As of  February 2014 out of 192 UN member states, 122 are States Parties to the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court (ICC).

States which have ratified or acceded to the ICC Statute are known as State Parties. They are under an obligation to implement the provisions of the Statute in their domestic law. In particular, the state has to criminalise genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes in its national legislation. These crimes are specifically defined in the ICC Statute under Articles 6, 7 and 8, respectively.

ICC’s jurisdiction is complementary to national jurisdiction

The ICC is not intended to be a substitute for national criminal justice systems. It complements them. This is known as the principle of complementarity (see Article 17 of the ICC Statute). According to it the ICC does not have jurisdiction if the state is investigating or prosecuting, unless the state is unwilling or unable to do so genuinely. The same applies where a state has investigated and decided not to prosecute. The ICC would not have jurisdiction unless the decision not to prosecute resulted from unwillingness or inability genuinely to prosecute.

The implication of this is that if a state has not even investigated, say, crimes against humanity committed on its own territory or by its nationals, the ICC does have jurisdiction.

However, it would be unrealistic to expect that the ICC will be able to try all such crimes and punish all perpetrators. As a matter of practicality the ICC cannot be the first instance court for such crimes.

To satisfy the definition of crimes against humanity, for example, such crimes have to be committed as part of a widespread or systematic attack directed against a civilian population. Such crimes typically have numerous perpetrators. Consider allegations of killings and torture inflicted in camps, spread across a war-torn country over the course of several years. One cannot realistically expect all the perpetrators to find themselves before the ICC. The effectiveness of the whole system, therefore, depends on national prosecutions of these crimes.

The integrity of the ICC model rests on the premise that State Parties will act to prosecute genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes committed on their territory or by their nationals. The assumption is that  the ICC would exercise its complementary jurisdiction in the minority of cases where false national prosecutions attempt to shield someone from ICC prosecution, or states are unable to prosecute because their national judicial system has collapsed.

As reiterated in the Complementarity Resolution by the Assembly of State Parties adopted at the ICC Review Conference in Kampala in 2010, effective prosecution of the core international crimes must be ensured at the national level.  Around one half of States Parties have some type of implementing legislation.  The Peace and Justice initiative can assist States Parties and other states in drafting and reviewing implementing legislation and training relevant stakeholders in using those provisions in practice in domestic trials.